What is SADHANA?

Here’s your guide to this Kundalini Yoga practice

Sadhana. You may have heard about this specific term, which is especially used in the world of Kundalini Yoga. But what’s that all about?

In this article you will find a basic presentation of Sadhana as a core theme from Kundalini Yoga. You will learn what is done in Sadhana, what effects this can have, and how you can practice your own Sadhana.

What is Sadhana?

Sadhana means daily spiritual practice. The aspect of “daily” is not to be neglected at all, since you will create an important foundation through a very regular practice of spirituality.

This requires a certain amount of self-discipline, which in turn, gives you the opportunity to express infinity in your own self.

In Kundalini Yoga, the practice of Sadhana has an important meaning, which is why it’s recommended to all yogis and yoginis.

Through Sadhana, you open yourself up to the possibility to perceive and finally overcome any patterns that lead you away from your higher consciousness. It is a consciously performed practice that is meant to serve you.

Here are the 6 steps of a traditional Kundalini Sadhana:

Classically, in the two and a half hours before sunrise, you practice the following things in this specific order.

  1. Recitation The Japji Sahib is a prayer from Sikhism, which is recited and chanted in a meditative way at the start of the day.

  2. Chanting The “Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo” mantra is used to begin all Kundalini practices.

  3. Kriya Next, you practice a Kriya of Kundalini Yoga to keep your physical body fit, strengthen circulation, release tension, and stimulate the Kundalini energy within you. A Kriya consists of movements, breathwork, chanting, and meditation. The choice of the Kriya is not prescribed, although certain Kriyas are particularly suitable for Sadhana. Those that work on the respiration, glands, nerves, and spine in a balanced way are especially useful. The Kriya should be generally energizing. As usual, the Kriya ends with deep relaxation and is followed by meditation.

  4. Meditation

To read the full article on YogiApproved, click here!

Join next live class

Get Zoom link
Kundalini Yoga Trainer

I’m a Kundalini Yoga trainer and organize live classes online, onsite and for corporate businesses.